2024 BRAW Jury: Fiction, Toddler, Opera Prima

A jury of experts identifies the best publishing projects considering their technical elements, artistic merit and the achieved delicate balance between text and images



Tina Bilban

PhD (1983), Tina Bilban is a research assistant at Institute Nova Revija, Ljubljana, Slovenia. Her interests and publications encompass the crossroads between literature, philosophy and science. As a freelancer, Tina also works as a literary critic, translator and editor with a special focus on children’s literature. She is the President of the Slovenian section of IBBY and a member of the IBBY executive committee (2022-2024); she was a member of the Hans Christian Andersen Award jury 2020 and 2022. She writes fiction and nonfiction for children, youth and grown-ups. 

Read more


Claudette S. McLinn

Dr. Claudette S. McLinn is the founder and executive director of the Center for the Study of Multicultural Children’s Literature (CSMCL.org). She is a retired District Supervising Librarian in Library Services for the Los Angeles Unified School District with over 34 years of experience as a teacher, librarian, and administrator in elementary and secondary education. She was the owner of a children's bookstore for over 20 years. She was also an Adjunct Professor at California State University, Long Beach, where she taught graduate courses in children’s literature and young adult literature with a focus on multicultural literature. She has been active in the American Library Association (ALA), including serving on the Newbery Award, Coretta Scott King Award (as chair), Pura Belpré Award (as chair), and Caldecott Award (as chair) Committees. She was an inaugural member of the Kirkus Prize Committee for Young Reader's Literature; judge for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Young Adult Literature; and judge for the Ezra Jack Keats Award Committee.
Dr. McLinn currently chaired the 2023 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature Jury. She presently serves as Board member of USBBY and Board member of the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art. She has received numerous awards including the 2014 Dorothy C. McKenzie Award for Distinguished Contribution to the Field of Children's Literature presented by the Children's Literature Council of Southern California; 2020 ALA/Association of Library Service to Children (ALSC) Distinguished Service Award; and 2023 ALA/Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Read more


Alice Nussbaum

Born in 1979, Alice Nussbaum is a French graphic designer and art director. After studying communications, she decided to turn her passion for graphic design into her profession and joined the publishing house Autrement in 2004. Attracted above all to children’s picture books, she began her freelance career in 2009 devoting herself to this field. Since then, she has collaborated as a graphic designer with numerous publishing houses (among others HongFei Cultures, Talents Hauts, Nathan, etc.) and since 2011 has been the art director of Grasset-Jeunesse. Furthermore, she regularly speaks with professionals and illustrators during book fairs, meetings and workshops. Since 2018, Alice Nussbaum has also been an author of children’s picture books under the pseudonym of Alice de Nussy (La Malédiction des flamants roses with J. Coat, Le Livre de ma jungle with E. Billon-Spagnol, Monsieur Nourse et la vie (mode d’emploi) and De 0 à dix with C. Demilly… – published with Grasset-Jeunesse). 

Read more


Beatriz Sanjuán

Bachelor Degree in Hispanic Philology (UCM, 1992) Specialization in Children’s Reading and Literature (UCLM, 2002). Literacy mediator, professor and researcher. Since 1994 coordinates programs, seminars and workshops focused on reading with infants, children and youth. She is one of the creators of TresBrujas Cultural Management and their website Rutas de Lectura. She is author of the essays Érase una voz. El primer libro del bebé (Pantalia, 2016) and Hace falta una aldea. Mediación en los ámbitos escolar y social (CERLAC, 2020). She currently works at the Department of Education Sciences, University of Oviedo. 

Read more

Related Articles